1. Have a gambling question?

    Post it here and our gambling experts will answer it!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Welcome to the #1 Gambling Community with the best minds across the entire gambling spectrum. REGISTER NOW!
  3. Join our $5,000 Cash Giveaway!

    Win Cash by Posting and Inviting New Members!

Blackjack Did blackjack dealer goof, then cheat?

Discussion in 'Blackjack Forum' started by mightymike, Jun 13, 2016.

  1. mightymike

    mightymike Member Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Likes:
    23
    just read this and i'm curious about what our resident bj experts think:

    -------------
    QUESTION: I was sitting on third base on a blackjack game with a wager of $50 and was dealt a 16. The dealer was showing a three, so I followed the rules of basic strategy and stayed. The dealer proceeded to flip over the three and had a two underneath. The dealer continued to hit her five with another two, then a queen – which gave her a 17. She then took another hit and got an eight, which brought her total to 25. A bust hand any way you count it.

    What the dealer proceeded to do next still baffles me. She slid the eight aside and then took my money. I argued the call and asked for the pit boss. He agreed with the dealer and said I wasn’t going to get my $50 back. Isn’t this a misdeal? — Gary R.

    -------------

    thoughts?
     
  2. shadroch

    shadroch Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Likes:
    2
    Occupation:
    Retired character assassin
    Location:
    Last Vegas
    Once the dealer had 17, the hand was over.
    A nice pitboss could have called it a dead hand. I'd have left.

    That's my opinion.
     
  3. mightymike

    mightymike Member Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Likes:
    23
    that begs the question: what would happen if a player was dealt 21, says "hit", and is dealt an eight and busts? would the casino slide that eight aside?
     
  4. shadroch

    shadroch Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Likes:
    2
    Occupation:
    Retired character assassin
    Location:
    Last Vegas
    Rules say dealer must stand on 17.
    No rule says a player must stand on 21.
    Any dealer worth their salt would question someone doing so, would loudly say hitting 21, and might even bring a supervisor over.
    Had the player had 18 and the dealer hit 17 and drawn a 4, he'd have gotten paid.
     
    mightymike likes this.
  5. OneArmedBandit

    OneArmedBandit Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Likes:
    14
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    I agree should have been called a dead hand. I also agree and would have left the table & casino
     
  6. Greasyjohn

    Greasyjohn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    California
    The dealer hitting her 17 was an error. The dealer already had you beat when she made this error and drew another card. The rules require that the dealer stands on 17. I would not have made a big deal out of the dealer nullifying the mistake.
     
  7. Greasyjohn

    Greasyjohn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Furthermore, had a player had a 20, for instance, and the dealer hit their 17 and draws a 4 the dealer obviously would not win. The player can't say the dealer should bust if the dealer hit their 17 and draws an 8 but the dealer should have to stand on their 17 if the dealer then draws a 4. You can't pick and choose which 17 the dealers hits as being okay.
     

Share This Page